Board nomination: Leadership renewal and new competence

Nbas 2024 Agm Election Committee

The election committee has submitted its recommendations in preparation for the Norwegian Business Association Singapore (NBAS) Annual General Meeting, scheduled to take place at Huone on March 26.

President Leonard Stornes and Treasurer Torgeir Willumsen have been nominated for another two-year term, signifying continuity and steady leadership at the helm of NBAS.

Joining the board are new faces bringing strong expertise from both the maritime sector and the circular economy, signaling a fresh and multidisciplinary approach to the association’s future endeavors.

Among the nominees are Steve Mellbye-Stølen, VP, Head of Asia at TOMRA Collection. Steve leads a pivotal company in the circular economy and boasts a rich entrepreneurial background, including significant experience within tech companies.

He is proposed to join the board alongside Paul Marskar, Senior Claims Adviser – Asia at Gard. Paul is recognized for his profound expertise in the maritime sector and has extensive experience from Singapore, having also collaborated with NBAS on several occasions.

The third new nominee is Daniel Reinsborg, Vice President of Finance at Wilhelmsen Ship Management. Daniel represents Wilhelmsen, a flagship Norwegian maritime company in Singapore, and brings additional experience from the board of the sister chamber in Malaysia.

Steve, Paul, and Daniel are all highly motivated to contribute to the Norwegian business community over the next two years, bringing their unique perspectives and expertise to the table.

If you haven’t registered for the NBAS AGM yet, don’t hesitate – this event will not only host the formal AGM for members but also include a business lunch and a session featuring two of Singapore’s most respected economists sharing their insights on how geopolitical and economic conditions affect business in Singapore and the region. Welcome!

Register here

The Election Committees proposal for the board

DesignationNameCompanyStatus before AGM 26 March 2024
PresidentLeonard StornesQuarksProposed re-elected
Honorary TreasurerTorgeir WillumsenSimonsen Vogt WiigProposed re-elected
Board memberRonny WaageHeron AdvisoryProposed re-elected
Honorary SecretaryArne Kjetil LianInnovation NorwayPermanent IN
Board MemberMarie PetterssonKezzlerProposed re-elected
Board MemberSteve Mellbye-StølenTomraProposed new
Board MemberPaul Andor MarskarGardProposed new
Board MemberDaniel ReinsborgWilhelmsen Ship ManagementProposed new
Board MemberH.E Eivind S. HommeEmbassyPermanent, Embassy
Board memberAxel BerningDNBNot up for election
Board MemberIngunn SvegaardenEquinorNot up for election
Board memberOlav KrabbesundViking Life-Savings EquipmentNot up for election
Board memberCristina Saenz de Santa MariaDNVNot up for election
Board memberMagnus GrimelandAntlerNot up for election
Board MemberErik IngvoldstadCareeraNot up for election